Quick Post from Chicago

I haven’t had any time to post on this vacation. There aren’t words to describe how great it is to be out of the swamp and in Chicago for opening weekend at Wrigley. I didn’t have to fly through any hurricanes to get here this time, but it felt like an escape nonetheless.

We didn’t have tickets to yesterday’s home opener, but we hung out in Wrigleyville bars and drank through the game. Good times. Well, from what I can remember. I have to say that I found a penny (face up) right in front of Wrigley before the game. Of course, the Cubs won yesterday, but I hope the good luck lasts for longer than that. Maybe some will run off on me too.

It was great to see some pitching. How many games can Maddux go in a row? Of course, I was extremely let down to see Neifi starting at second. Baker just named Todd Walker the starting second baseman one week ago. Why would he already sit a guy that’s hitting as well as anyone on the team? He didn’t bench any of the other starters. Let me tell you, other teams have learned the hard way that you don’t get the great stuff out of Walker when you play him every other day. And here’s a fair warning to Dusty, et al:

If Todd’s not starting today, I’m coming down there!

Today is my 28th birthday. I’ve got a "date" for the game; the Cubs are over .500; I’m in Chicago with two of my best friends; I don’t have to work for a week; I’ve got job interviews next week; and the sun might actually come out in Chicago.

More from my adventure in the Windy City as time permits.

2 comments

  1. Kellia

    Today is my 28th birthday. I’ve got a “date” for the game; the Cubs are over .500; I’m in Chicago with two of my best friends; I don’t have to work for a week; I’ve got job interviews next week; and the sun might actually come out in Chicago.

    Happy Birthday and Congratulations!

    Of course, I was extremely let down to see Neifi starting at second. Baker just named Todd Walker the starting second baseman one week ago. Why would he already sit a guy that’s hitting as well as anyone on the team?

    I know the feeling. Eric Byrnes is supposed to be the starting center fielder fr the D’Backs. He went 3-5 on opening day, and DaVanon started in center the next day. GRRR!

    Good luck withe the job interviews.

    Mark Grace is now a D’Backs broadcaster, so I hear him all the time. And I like him; he’s obviously a big Eric Byrnes fan! :+)

    Kellia

    http://byrnesblog.mlblogs.com

Leave a Reply

